1. Nuno Moniz

    Nuno Moniz

    Director, Notre Dame-IBM Technology Ethics Lab

  2. Nicole McAlee

    Nicole McAlee

    Program Manager, Notre Dame-IBM Technology Ethics Lab

Graduate Fellows

  1. Portrait of Noah Karger

    Noah Karger

    Ph.D. Student, Theology

  2. Portrait of Perla Khattar

    Perla Khattar

    J.S.D. Student, Law

  3. Portrait of Will O'Brien

    William O'Brien

    Ph.D. Student, History and Peace Studies

  4. Portrait of Emma Schmidt

    Emma Schmidt

    Ph.D. Student, Political Science

  5. Portrait of Kesavan Thanagopal

    Kesavan Thanagopal

    Ph.D. Student, Philosophy


Lab Administration

  • Nuno Moniz, Notre Dame, Director of the Notre Dame-IBM Technology Ethics Lab
  • Catherine M. Quinlan, IBM, Vice President, AI Ethics
  • Heather Domin, IBM, Global Leader, Responsible AI Initiatives; Associate Director of the Notre Dame-IBM Technology Ethics Lab
  • Jungmin Lee, IBM, Program Manager
  • Nicole McAlee, Notre Dame, Program Manager of the Notre Dame-IBM Technology Ethics Lab

Steering Committee

Co-founded by the University of Notre Dame and IBM, the Technology Ethics Lab is governed by a steering committee that is co-chaired by and equally represents Notre Dame and IBM. The members of the steering committee are: 

  • Rev. Robert A. Dowd, C.S.C., Notre Dame, Vice President and Associate Provost for Interdisciplinary Initiatives, Associate Professor of Political Science
  • Nick Fehring, IBM, Controller
  • Christina Montgomery, IBM, Vice President, Chief Privacy & Trust Officer
  • Jeffrey F. Rhoads, Notre Dame, Vice President for Research, Professor of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
  • Meghan Sullivan, Notre Dame, Director, Notre Dame Institute for Advanced Study, Wilsey Family College Professor of Philosophy 
  • Jeffrey J. Welser, IBM, Chief Operating Officer, IBM Research; Vice President, Exploratory Science and University Collaborations